Providing complete peace of mind to the UK transport industry

0141 237 6950
Basket - Checkout

CPC Initial Qualification – What Is It?

The CPC initial qualification must be completed by new drivers since the introduction of the CPC legislation in 2008/09. This consists of four modules:

  • Theory test – a multiple-choice test followed by hazard perception clips
  • Driver CPC case study – 50 multiple-choice questions
  • Practical driving test
  • Driver CPC practical test – a demonstration covering 5 sections relating to vehicle safety

We have heard from many drivers who were never advised by their training company that they required the initial qualification. Failure to complete this means that you do not have a valid licence and could be prosecuted for driving a vehicle without the appropriate entitlement.

Once you have completed your initial qualification, you will have five years from the date of completion to attain 35 hours of periodic training in order to retain your Driver CPC.

As of March 2015, drivers who have not yet acquired their Driver Qualification Card can bypass periodic training by sitting module 2 and 4. More information can be found here.

Category: Driver CPC Training