Providing complete peace of mind to the UK transport industry

0141 237 6950
Basket - Checkout

What is a OCRS score?

One of the first things that we look to ascertain with new clients is what their OCRS Score currently stands at – and often, they have no idea! 

The Operator Compliance Risk Score (OCRS) is DVSA’s internal risk-based mechanism used at the roadside to help identify operators who are most likely to be non-compliant. Despite being in use since 2006, major changes were implemented in late 2012 and it is these changes that some operators are (still!) adjusting to.

First things first – how is your OCRS score calculated? Your score is derived from a rolling three-year set of data updated on a weekly basis. This helps to keep your score as current as possible whilst also providing more data than previously (the old system used a two-year data set) to base an informed opinion on your level of compliance.

Your score takes into account ROADWORTHINESS and TRAFFIC encounters.

The roadworthiness category covers data derived from annual test history and any roadside encounters relating to maintenance issues; and your traffic score is determined by roadside investigations into driver records and/or overloading.

Points are issued on a graduation basis dependent on the severity of the defect or offence; for example, an immediate prohibition for brakes will receive more points than one for defective bodywork. “S” marked prohibitions will incur double points as it has been determined that there has been a significant breakdown in the operator’s maintenance arrangements.

Type of DefectPoints
Category 1 – Immediate prohibition for tyres, brakes or steering defects200
Category 2 – Immediate prohibition for all other defects100
Category 3 – Delayed prohibition for tyres, brakes or steering defects50
Category 4 – Delayed prohibition for all other defects25
Category 1 – Immediate S marked prohibition for tyres, brakes or steering defects400
Category 2 – Immediate S marked prohibition all other defects200
Category 3 – Delayed S marked prohibition for tyres, brakes or steering defects100
Category 4 – Delayed S marked prohibition for all other defects.50
Annual Test failure for tyres, brakes or steering defects50
Annual Test failure for all other defects25

For a full list of the points associated to each defect, please click here.

Your score will be banded green, amber, red or grey. Red rated operators will be those most likely to be stopped at the roadside with green and amber operators being considered less likely to be non-compliant. Grey rated operators are those who DVSA have no information on and are more likely to be stopped than green and amber rated operators.

Your banding is dependent on your baseline score. Your baseline score is determined by dividing your total number of defect/offence points by the number of events (i.e. roadside inspections) you have encountered. The older an offence, the fewer points it carries.

Managing your OCRS score effectively is vitally important to maintaining a safe operation but the fact remains that many operators are still unaware of their score. To register for your score, please follow this link. This will grant you access to your online reports – a sample report can be found here.

If you require any assistance interpreting your OCRS or would like some free advice on your levels of compliance, please get in touch with us today.

Category: Compliance